ESA Conference 2019 – Warsaw (Poland)


Warsaw (Poland): 12–14 June, 2019


Keynote Speakers
  • Hanne Appelqvist (Turku)
  • Ruth Sonderegger (Vienna)
  • Erika Fischer-Lichte (Berlin)


We will have both systematic and historical presentations of papers from different traditions and on a large variety of topics in philosophical aesthetics. For each talk, there will be time for a 20-minute presentation, with about another 25 minutes designated for discussion. All accepted and presented papers would be eligible for publication in the proceedings of the ESA.

Conference Programme (Coming soon)

Abstracts (Coming soon)

ESA General Assembly


Please register for the conference here (Coming soon).

If you are not yet a member of the ESA, please register first – membership is for free. If you forgot your password, you can set a new one here.

Registration deadline: 24th of May 2019


Collegium Novum (Old Library), University of Warsaw, Krakowskie Przedmieście 26/28 street, Warsaw, Poland

Travelling to Warsaw:

(Coming soon)



(Coming soon)


The Fabian Dorsch ESA Essay Prize winner in 2019

The European Society for Aesthetics arranges an essay prize for PhD students and early career scholars (max. three years from the doctorate) in connection with its yearly conferences. The prize consists of travel and accommodation stipend of up to 500 euros. The ESA will also award the prize winner’s conference fees and conference dinner. The winning essay will be considered for publication in the journal Estetika. In taking part in the prize, participants commit themselves to publish their essay in Estetika in case they are awarded the prize. For more information on the journal please visit:

All submissions to the prize must be in English. First submissions should be made by following the general call of the ESA 2019 conference and all submissions will be considered for presentation at the conference. Please place “(Essay Prize)” after the title of your submission in EasyChair to indicate that you want your submission to be considered for the prize. The selection of the prize winner will be broken down into two stages. After the first round of reviews, selected authors will be asked to submit a full conference paper (max. 3500 words) by the 22nd March 2019. The recipient of the prize will be selected from this group. We aim to announce the winner by the 22nd April 2019.

For all enquiries regarding the prize please contact Karen Simecek, the secretary of the ESA:

Please send all your questions to the conference organisers: conference[at]