About the ESA


The goal has been to establish the ESA as one of the main research and communication platforms for people interested in aesthetics, with a special focus on aesthetics in Europe.

More specifically, the aim is to promote philosophical and other academic research and teaching in aesthetics and the theory of art, and in particular to encourage exchange between those pursuing these activities in different parts of Europe, and in the diverse traditions that European aesthetics involves.

In particular, the ESA aims:

  • To distribute information about the activities of national and regional societies for aesthetics in Europe;
  • To organise regular international conferences and meetings for the discussion of topics in aesthetics;
  • To publish, or help with the publication of, high quality research in aesthetics done by European researchers.

The ESA Essay Prize for PhD students and early career researchers was launched in 2017 in memory Fabian Dorsch, a co-founder and a first secretary of the European Society for Aesthetics. Its former winners include Irene Martínez Marín (2019), Mark Windsor (2018), and Servaas van der Berg (2017).

If you would like to get involved, please contact us or join the ESA.

You may also want to take a look at the statutes of the ESA.


The European Society for Aesthetics was founded in 2008 at the University of Fribourg (Switzerland), where it has been based ever since.

The ESA executive committee has been elected five times by the members of the ESA during the ESA Assembly meetings: in 2009 in Fribourg (Presidency and Committee), in 2012 in Guimarães/Braga (Committee), in 2015 in Dublin (Presidency and Committee), in 2018 in Maribor (Committee), in 2022 in Tallinn (Presidency and Committee).

NameAffiliationESA committee memberOffices
Claire AnscombLiverpool, UK2022-Conference chair (2023 – )
María José Alcaraz LeónMurcia, Spain2022-Treasurer (2023 – )
Jochen SchuffBerlin, Germany2022-Programme chair (2022 – )
Pauline von BonsdorffJyväskylä, Finland2018-President, (2022 – )
Iris VidmarRijeka, Croatia2018-Editor of the Proceedings (2018 – 2019), Secretary (2020 – 2023)
Tereza HadravováPrague, Czechia2018-Webmaster and the Newsletter (2020 – )
Elena TavaniNaples, Italy2018-
Adam AndrzejewskiWarsaw, Poland2018-Treasurer (2018 – 2023)
Regina-Nino MionTallinn, Estonia2018-Conference chair (2020 – 2023), Secretary (2023 – )
Vítor MouraGuimarães, Portugal2018-Editor of the Proceedings (2020 – )
Connell VaughanDublin, Ireland2017-Editor of the Proceedings (2017 – )
Daniel Martin FeigeBerlin, Germany2015 – 2022Programme chair (2018– 2022)
Karen SimecekWarwick, UK2015 – 2022Conference chair (2018 –  2019),
Secretary (2018 – 2020)
Alessandro BertinettoUdine, Italy2012 – 2018Editor of the Proceedings (2010), Programme chair (2012-2018)
Matilde Carrasco BarrancoMurcia, Spain2012 – 2018Conference chair (2012 – 2018)
Zsolt BátoriBudapest, Hungary2012 – 2018
Isabelle Rieusset-LemariéParis, France2012 – 2018
Kalle PuolakkaHelsinki, Finland2012 – 2018Secretary (2013 – 2018)
Dan-Eugen RatiuCluj, Romania2012 – 2018Editor of the Proceedings (2012 – 2017)
John ZeimbekisGrenoble, France;
Patras, Greece
2012 – 2018Editor of the Proceedings (2011), Treasurer (2012 – 2018)
Josef FrüchtlAmsterdam, Netherlands2012 – 2017
Jakub StejskalPrague, Czechia2009 – 2015Editor of the Proceedings (2011)
Fabian DorschFribourg, Switzerland2009 – 2015Secretary (2009 – 2013),
Editor of the Proceedings (2009 – 2016)
Catrin MisselhornTübingen, Germany2009 – 2015
Francisca Pérez CarreñoMurcia, Spain2009 – 2012President (2015 – 2022)
Robert HopkinsSheffield, UK2009 – 2015President (2009 – 2015)
Arto HaapalaHelsinki, Finland2009 – 2012
Simo SääteläBergen, Norway2009 – 2012
Cain ToddLancaster, UK2009 – 2012Editor of the Proceedings (2010)

Executive Committee

The European Society for Aesthetics is run by a eleven-person strong executive committee which includes the president, the secretary and the treasurer of the ESA, as well as the organiser of the annual conferences, the programme chair of those meetings and the editors of the ESA proceedings. The offices of the ESA include also a webmaster, who however need not be a member of the committee.

For any inquiries, please contact the holder of the office pertaining closest to your question(s) or comment(s). If unsure, please contact the secretary of the ESA.


Pauline von Bonsdorff (Jyväskylä) — Email: pauline.v.bonsdorff[at]jyu.fi


Regina-Nino Mion (Tallinn) — Email: secretary[at]eurosa.org


María José Alcaraz León (Murcia) — Email: treasurer[at]eurosa.org


Claire Anscomb (Liverpool) — Email: conference[at]eurosa.org


Jochen Schuff (Berlin) — Email: conference[at]eurosa.org


Connell Vaughan (Dublin)— Email: proceedings[at]eurosa.org

Vitor Moura (Guimarães) — Email: proceedings[at]eurosa.org


Tereza Hadravová (Prague) — Email: tereza.hadravova[at]ff.cuni.cz


Iris Vidmar (Rijeka) — Email: ividmar[at]ffri.uniri.hr

Elena Tavani (Naples)— Email: etavani[at]unior.it

Adam Andrzejewski (Warsaw)

Privacy Preference Center