Call for Abstracts

There is currently no Call for Abstracts.

Upcoming Conference

The ESA Conference 2023 is to be held on 29 June – 1 July 2023 at the House of Music Hungary.

The conference is co-organised by the ESA and the Kodolányi János University.

Conference fee is 40€ for students and unwaged, and 80 € for academics.

The keynote speakers:

Alva Noë (University of Berkeley

Stacie Friend (University of London

Veronika Darida (Eötvös Lorand University)


The conference will be published in May 2023.


The conference will take place at the House of Music Hungary The area itself (with 3 museums nearby and the park) is a popular location for people visiting the city.


Registration for the conference is not open yet.


The local organisers recommend two hotels that a) are centrally located in the Pest side of Budapest, and b) are also very close to the subway station (“Oktogon”) that is four stops (1.4 km) from the station (“Hősök tere”) from where the conference venue (Hungarian House of Music / Magyar Zene Háza) is just a short walk in a beautiful park.

The two hotels close to the “Octagon” subway station are:

Medos Hotel: 3-star hotel
H-1061 Budapest, Jókai tér 9.
Reserving a room on Medos Hotel’s homepage gives an automatic 20% discount (no promo code is needed).

Hotel Oktogon: 4-star hotel
H-1062 Budapest, Andrássy út 52.
Hotel Oktogon has given a promotional code for the conference participants. Please register here (promotional code is automatically applied).

Please note that neither the ESA, nor the local organisers will be able to book rooms for you – you will have to contact the hotels directly. Since Budapest is a popular tourist location in the summer conference participants are advised to book their room as soon as possible.



Please send your questions concerning the conference venue, the meals, accommodation, travel and other local issues to the local organisers: Zsolt Bátori or Borbála Jász Please send all other questions (for instance, concerning the programme) to the ESA conference organiser (conference(a)

Past Conferences

  • ESA Conference 2022 – Tallinn (→)

Keynote speakers
Emmanuel Alloa: Sharing Perspectives. Points of View in Art and Philosophy
Pauline von Bonsdorff: Aesthetics, Culture and Nature
Virve Sarapik: Aesthetics and Semiotics. Partly Site-specific
  • ESA Conference 2020/2021 – online (→)

Keynote speakers
Bence Nanay: Aesthetic Experience as Achievement
David Davies: Explananda for an Ontology of Multiple Artworks
Erika Fischer-Lichte: Transformative Aesthetics


  • ESA Conference 2019 – Warsaw (→)

Keynote speakers
Hanne Appelqvist: What Can Mere Musical Form Show Us about Reality?
Ruth Sonderegger: Emancipation, normalization, or coercion? Aesthetic education from Kant to Spivak
Lydia Goehr: Painting in Waiting: Prelude to a Critical Philosophy of History and Art


  • ESA Conference 2018 – Maribor (→)

Keynote speakers
Giovanni Matteucci: The (Aesthetic) Extended Mind: From Experience-of to Experience-with
Robert Hopkins: The Sculpted Image
Catrin Misselhorn: Conceptual Knowledge in Literature


  • ESA Conference 2017 – Berlin (→)

Keynote speakers
Hagi Kenaan: Photography: The Visual as an Existential
Dominique Chateau: Art, otherwise than art
Eileen John: Artistic Differences: Disliking and Disagreeing about Art


  • ESA Conference 2016 – Barcelona (→)

Keynote speakers
Lev Kreft: Dandy Socialism
Christoph Menke: The Paradox of Ability and the Value of Beauty
Elisabeth Schellekens: What Do We Owe Beautiful Objects?


  • ESA Conference 2015 – Dublin (→)

Keynote speakers
Paul Crowther: The Need for Art: Substantial Freedom and the Aesthetics of Self-Consciousness
Carole Talon-Hugon: Artialisation of Emotions
Francisca Perez Carreño: Keep reading. Aesthetic experience and literary interpretation


  • ESA Conference 2014 – Amsterdam (→)

Keynote speakers
Martin Seel: Active Passivity: On the Aesthetic Variant of Freedom
Berys Gaut: Culture and Creativity
Maarten Doorman: The Romantic Order and the Unabatable Belief in Autonomy


  • ESA conference 2013 – Prague (→)

Keynote speakers
Tomáš Hlobil: 250 Years of Aesthetics at Prague University: How the History of the Teaching of Aesthetics Has Evaded Its Historians
Paolo D’Angelo: Aesthetics as Philosophy of Experience
Maria Elisabeth Reicher- Marek: Actual meaning objectivism


  • ESA conference 2012 – Guimarães (→)

Keynote speakers
Krystyna Wilkoszewska: Transcultural Studies in Aesthetics: The Ups and Downs
Noël Carroll: The Creative Audience: Some Ways in which Readers, Viewers, and/or Listeners Use their Imaginations to Engage Fictional Artworks
Mário Jorge de Carvalho: A Further Point of View on Points of View


  • ESA conference 2011 – Grenoble (→)

Keynote speakers
Roger Pouivet: Modal Aesthetics
Josef Füchtl: Produced and Nevertheless True: On Heroes, Stars, and an Aesthetics of Presence
Christel Fricke: Aesthetic Ways of Worldmaking
Gerard Vilar: Some Paradoxes of De-Artification and Rancière’s Art Philosophy


  • ESA conference 2010 – Udine (→)

Keynote speakers
Sergio Givone: About a narrative way of thinking
Lambert Wiesing: Pause of participation. On the function of artificial presence
John Hyman: Is resemblance a relation?
Thierry de Duve: On negativity in Kant’s Third Critique


  • ESA conference 2009 – Fribourg (→)


YouTube: European Society for Aesthetics