Aesthetic Dis/interestedness and Affects

Map Unavailable

Date(s): 19. May – 20. May



Zoom (Central European Summer Time). Please, see the call for registration below.

 Program (see below for abstracts)

Thursday, 19 May 2022

14:00-14:15 Introduction

14:15-15:30 Peter Lamarque (University of York, England): Poetry: Experience and Affect

15:35-16:15 Ivan Iyer (Indian Institute of Technology, New Delhi, India): The Conflicting Interests of the Kantian Sublime: Agitation and Suspension as Disinterested Affect

16:20-17:00 Keren Gorodeisky (Auburn University, Alabama, USA): Aesthetic Agency? The Authority Approach

30 Minute Rest/ Social Time

17:30-18:10 Jacopo Frascaroli (University of York, England): Aesthetic Experience, Affect and Dis/interestedness: Insights from the Predictive Processing Framework

18:15-18:55 Daan Evers (University of Groningen, Netherlands): Aesthetic Non-naturalism and Positive Affect

19:00-20:15 Nick Zangwill (University of London, England): Disinterestedness: Analysis and Partial Defence

Friday, 20 May 2022

14:00-15:15 Íngrid Vendrell-Ferran (Philipps University of Marburg, Germany): Aesthetic Appreciation, Aesthetic Values, and Intentional Feelings

15:20-16:00 Kris Goffin (University of Antwerp, Belgium & KU Leuven, Belgium): The Teleosemantics of Aesthetic Emotions

16:05-16:45 João Lemos (Nova University of Lisbon, Portugal): Propaganda as a Loathsome Art. A Kant-Inspired Account of Propaganda

30 Minute Rest/ Social Time

17:15-17:55 Uriah Kriegel (Rice University, Texas, USA): A Fitting-Attitude Approach to Aesthetic Value?

18:00-18:40 Anthony Öhnström (Uppsala University, Sweden): Examining the Role of Desires in Experiences of Beauty

18:45-20:00 Adriana Clavel Vázquez (University of Oxford, England): Situation, Affect, and Aesthetic (Dis)interest

Call for Registration

Scientific Committee


Aarón Álvarez González (Barcelona)

Tom Cochrane (Flinders)

Filippo Contesi (Barcelona)

Esa Díaz-León (Barcelona)

Manuel García-Carpintero (Barcelona)

Cecilea Mun (Louisville)

David Pineda-Oliva (Girona)

Enrico Terrone (Torino)


For abstracts of talks and all other details please visit:


Aarón Álvarez González (